WEEK 1- PROJECT 3- IDEAS

Ideas

 

What do I wish to do in this project?

 

  1. I want to create a hiphop/RNB track with acoustic guitar as an influence on the beat.
  2. I want to re-create my own drum kit using only household items as samples.
  3. I want to experiment with toys that make different sounds and use them for samples and play around with them in my track.
  4. I want to work on my mixing skills and learn new techniques to enable me to mix faster and with better care.

 

Choose one idea and why?

 

  1. I want to focus on re-creating my own drum kit through only using samples from household objects as I feel this is an important feature to my beat and without it the beat will not sound how I want it to sound.

 

What house hold objects do you have that match your idea?

 

  1. Pots/Pans (snare drums)
  2. Books (snare drums)
  3. Glasses (high pitch sounds)
  4. Any Table Tops Or Surface (bass sound)
  5. Vitamins In A Pot (shaker)
  6. Empty Water Container (bongo drum)
  7. Belt (clap sound)
  8. 2 Shoes (thud sound)

 

Homework: Record five of them on your phone

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are the influences behind your idea and why

 

  1. One of the main influences for me is I have recently found a numerous amount of beats that have used an acoustic guitar and I feel it sets a really soft and elegant vibe throughout the track and that is something, after listening, that I want to re-create myself with a different style that I will gather through experimentation and also through listening to a collection of acoustic guitar beats to gain some tips and ideas on what sounds from the drums work nicely with the acoustic guitar in order to enable me to match up samples from house recordings from different objects to the drum kits used with the acoustic guitar.
  2. The experimenting with toys idea was influenced from my teacher who mentioned his friend used only toys that make noise as samples and created entire tracks from them. I thought this sounded very interesting and I could manipulate different sounds and drop different ones throught the beat before beat drops or splits in the beat for added effect.

 

 

 

Technical issues

 

 

 

My Skills to deliver the project

 

 

New Skills required in delivering this idea

 

 

 

 

Equipment I need

 

  1. Acoustic Guitar
  2. Toys That Make Soundsc

Leave a comment